What we do

It’s all about mud.  As fresh and ancient, as simple and mysterious, as fleeting and eternal as mud.  We shape this most common of materials, embellish it and fire it.  The product includes tile, sconces, murals and more in the line of architectural ceramics.  Plain as mud.

Yesterday it was 106 degrees in Austin.  We fired a kiln to just over 2000 degrees, and none of keeled over from heat exhaustion.  But a pedestrian on our block of East Sixth St. did faint, apparently from the heat.  This morning we set out a water cooler with an invitation for passers by to help themselves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What we do

  1. Vaunie says:

    How neat to hear more about your work with clay! Plain as mud. I love it! The art of ceramics is like starting at a primordial level and adding aesthetics. I can also relate to the simple and basic nature of your medium because my work in dirt has just taken off as I had two beautiful rich loads of it delivered yesterday. They call it brown gold and, yes, it is man-enhanced (mixed, screened and nourished) but it is all natural: soil, sand and compost. I can hear my garden thanking me. Wouldn’t we love 106, cold and rainy here in New England for weeks!

  2. Mary Trachsel says:

    I like the name of the blog. I have to say, that the mud of my childhood is unimaginable as a medium for anything beyond mudpies. When are you coming up to Iowa to see our black mud? Donnie and Michelle made it–so can you!

Leave a comment